Many of us carry emotional baggage from past experiences, impacting our present and hindering our ability to move forward. Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR) therapy offers a unique approach to healing by helping individuals process and release the emotional distress associated with traumatic memories.

This powerful technique utilizes bilateral stimulation, such as eye movements or tapping sensations, while focusing on past experiences to help reprocess them in a healthier way. By delving deeper and understanding the various stages of EMDR, you can gain valuable insight into how this therapy can be used to unlock healing and emotional well-being.

The 8 Stages of EMDR:

EMDR therapy follows a structured eight-phase approach, providing a framework for therapists and guiding individuals through the healing process. Here’s a breakdown of each stage:

History Taking and Treatment Planning: This initial stage involves gathering information about the individual’s history, identifying target memories that contribute to current emotional distress, and collaboratively creating a treatment plan.

Preparation: The therapist prepares the individual for the reprocessing phase by teaching coping skills and grounding techniques to manage any emotional discomfort that may arise during the process.

Assessment: In this stage, the therapist helps the individual identify specific aspects of the target memory, including the image, emotions, thoughts, and bodily sensations associated with it.

Desensitization: This core phase utilizes bilateral stimulation while focusing on the identified aspects of the memory. The therapist guides the individual through eye movements or other bilateral stimulations while they reprocess the memory and associated emotions.

Installation: Positive beliefs and self-statements are introduced to replace negative thoughts and beliefs linked to the target memory, fostering a sense of empowerment and self-worth.

Body Scan: The individual pays attention to their bodily sensations while focusing on the memory, identifying any changes or residual discomfort.

Closure: At the end of each session, the therapist helps the individual integrate their experience and ensure they feel a sense of stability and safety before concluding the session.

Reevaluation: The therapist and individual revisit the progress made, assessing any changes in the target memory’s intensity and associated emotions, and determining if further work is needed.

EMDR Therapy

Q&A on
EMDR Therapy

A deep dive, easy to read, review of
Unearthing the Layers: Exploring the 8 Stages of EMDR Therapy

How to do EMDR step by step?

EMDR is a complex therapy best administered by a trained and certified EMDR therapist. While the therapist guides the individual through each stage, the specific process and techniques used may vary depending on the individual’s needs and responses.

What is the 8 phase model of EMDR?

The eight-phase model provides a framework for EMDR therapy, ensuring a structured and consistent approach to help individuals process and reprocess traumatic memories.

What happens to your brain during EMDR?

While the exact mechanisms remain under investigation, research suggests that EMDR may influence the brain’s memory processing and emotional regulation systems, potentially facilitating the reprocessing of traumatic memories and reducing their emotional impact.
It’s important to remember that EMDR is not a one-size-fits-all solution. However, for many individuals struggling with the lasting effects of traumatic experiences, it can be a powerful tool for healing and rebuilding their emotional well-being. If you’re interested in learning more about EMDR or exploring this therapeutic approach, consulting with a qualified mental health professional can be the first step on your journey towards emotional healing.



Compassionate Therapy for Deeper Wellbeing